May. 11, 2011

College honors retirees and employee service

Stacy Colt

Stacy Colt, administrative aide in the Human Resource Office, with President Christopher C. Dahl after he presented her with the 2011 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service at the annual College Service Recognition Luncheon on May 4. /PHOTO BY BRIAN BENNETT





Geneseo honored employees for their years of service and recent retirees at the annual College Service Recognition Luncheon on May 4. The college also presented the 2011 Chancellor Award for Excellence in Classified Service and Geneseo Pride Awards.

President Christopher C. Dahl presented Stacy Colt, administrative aide in the Human Resource Office, with the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service.

She received the award for her work as Secretary 1 in the Communicative Disorders and Sciences Department. She is consistently cited for her outstanding interpersonal skills, dedicated work ethic and leadership. SUNY established the award in 2008 to recognize superior performance and extraordinary achievement by employees in the classified service.

The college also presented Geneseo Pride Awards to Paula Bill, secretary in the Languages and Literatures Department; Donna Gerould, agency program aide in the Athletics and Recreation Department and Garry Morgan, area coordinator in Residence Life. There were 10 nominations for the award (1 group and 9 individuals), which recognizes significant contributions of non-teaching full-time or part-time employees in advancing the goals and mission of Geneseo.

Bill's nomination noted her superior organizational skills, integrity, warm and approachable demeanor, and her ability to handle difficult matters. Gerould's nomination called her the force behind the scenes in everything that happens in athletics. Morgan's nomination described his professionalism, work ethic and ability to build connections with both students and staff.

Also honored were 125 faculty and staff who completed 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service in 2010, and 120 faculty and staff with more than 25 years of service to the college.

The 55 retirees honored are:

Deborah Abbott, Lillian Agosto, Patricia Baird, Bruce Bennett, Terry Bovee, Joan Bush, Alice Button, John Carney, Joseph Conrad, Marjorie Cox, Lynne Crater, Lena Davis,
Mark Drum, Michael Ellis, Carolyn Emmert, Joseph Ferrero, Richard Finkelstein, Donald Fox, Walter Freed, Jr., Nancy Genova, Thomas Gibson, William Gohlman, James Goodell, Clyde Green, Linda Green, Teresa Hare, Kathleen Holbrook, Jeffrey Hopkins, Donna Howe,Sharon Huette, Ted Karnischky, Anna Kline, Wayne Lee, Pamela Little, Samuel Maggio, Jr., Margaret Matlin, Roy Meissner, Joanne Menke, Marilyn Moore, Ronald Morsch, Lenwood Rider, Edwin Rivenburgh, Marjorie Rogers, Sherry Schwartz, Linda Shepard, Laureen Sherner, Mary Ellen Siraguse, Jean Smith, Loretta Stratton, Rogetta Timothy, Edward VanVliet, Clair Voss, Gwendolyn Wachholder, Zhiming Zhao and Mary Ellen Zuckerman.