Aug. 26, 2013

Dahl reminisces and recognizes faculty during final convocation address

President Dahl shakes hands with Justin Behrend during convocation

President Christopher C. Dahl, left, congratulates Justin Behrend, associate professor of history, for his award for excellence in teaching at the Opening Convocation on Aug. 23. Dahl delivered his final convocation address to faculty members before his retirement.  /PHOTO BY KEITH WALTERS '11

President Christopher C. Dahl gave his final opening address to faculty and staff on Aug. 23.

At the traditional Opening Convocation in Alice Austin Theatre, he reminisced about joys and challenges during his 19 years leading Geneseo, and lauded the college for its strong academic standing, as well as the professors who help build Geneseo’s reputation. This achievement enables Geneseo to carry out its unique mission in the SUNY system, said Dahl, who goes on sabbatical this October and retires in June.

“I sincerely thank all of my colleagues for helping to transform Geneseo into one of the finest public liberal arts colleges in the country,” said Dahl. “I want to say to you all how much vicarious pleasure and pride I have taken in what you and our students have done and continue to do. Thank you so much for all you have given me over the years. I am deeply grateful.”

Chair of the College Senate and Associate Professor of Physics James McLean also gave remarks and welcomed faculty members.

The president also recognized recent recipients of campuswide and SUNY awards:

  • Distinguished Teaching Professor of Chemistry Wendy Knapp Pogozelski
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching
    Justin Behrend, associate professor of history
    Charles Freeman, professor of physics and department chair
    Gillian Paku, assistant professor of English
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities
    Michael Oberg, professor of history
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service
    Wendi Kinney, assistant dean of students for fraternal life and off campus services
    Jeffrey Nordland, director of accounting services
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service
    Emilye Crosby, professor of history
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service
    Donna Hanna, library clerk 3, Milne Library
  • President’s Award for Excellence in Academic Advisement
    Kathryn Rommel-Esham, professor of education
  • President’s Award for Excellence in Research and Creativity
    Aaron Steinhauer, associate professor of physics
  • President’s Award for Outstanding Professsional Service
    David Norton, assistant director of facilities planning
  • Drs. Carol and Michael Harter Endowment
    Atsushi Tajima, associate professor of communication
  • Joseph M. O’Brien Award for Excellence in Part-Time Teaching
    Todd Goehle, lecturer of history
  • Art Hatton Award for Excellence in College Advancement
    Debra Hill, assistant vice president emerita of College Advancement
  • James and Julia Lockhart Supported Professorship for Research and Creative Endeavors
    Monica Schneider, associate professor of psychology, Dr. Spencer J. Roemer Supported Professorship
    Dennis Showers, Distinguished Service Professor of Education