Sep. 08, 2010


David Geiger

David Geiger, who has been helping aspiring scientists hone their chemistry expertise for 25 years, was recently named a distinguished teaching professor by the SUNY Board of Trustees.

The rank is the highest tribute conferred upon instructional faculty. Trustees noted Geiger's ability to spark students' excitement about chemistry and to build self-confidence as learners and scientists. He also regularly collaborates with students to conduct photochemical studies, providing them with research experience. Geiger is the 40th Geneseo faculty member to earn the rank since 1973.


Benjamin LaabsBenjamin Laabs, assistant professor of geological sciences, was recently awarded a National Science Foundation Research in Undergraduate Institutions grant for a multi-year project that will provide several Geneseo undergraduate students with hands-on experience.

Laabs is collaborating with Eric Leonard, a geology professor at Colorado College, on "RUI: Collaborative Research: Glaciation and Climate Change in the Rocky Mountains During the Last Glacial Maximum and the Subsequent Deglaciation." Research focuses on climate change and glacial recession in Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Laabs, Leonard, and students will use geologic dating and glacier modeling techniques to reconstruct climate during the last ice age, and the magnitude of climate warming that accompanied glacier retreat at the end of the ice age. Laabs says findings may provide insight into the history of climate change in that region and into the accuracy of model predictions for future precipitation changes in the Rockies, where demand for water resources continues to grow.

The $89,466 grant extends through August 2013 and provides for an undergraduate research assistant each year, funds for summer field research and sample analysis, equipment and supplies purchase and travel to conferences and a research workshop in Colorado.



Faculty and staff receive 2010 awards

Members of the Geneseo faculty and staff were recognized at the Opening Convocation on Aug. 27 with awards for excellent work. They are:

  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching: Ganie DeHart, professor and chair of psychology; Scott Giorgis, associate professor and chair of geological sciences; Chi-Ming Tang, associate professor of mathematics
  • Chancellors' Award for Excellence in Faculty Service: Margaret Stolee, assistant professor of history
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Services: Mark Mitschow, professor of accounting
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Professional Service: Leonard Sancilio, dean of students
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service: Christie Reed, keyboard specialist 1 of Admissions
  • President's Award for Outstanding Professional Service: Rebecca Anchor, director of purchasing and central services
  • Drs. Carol and Michael Harter Endowment for Faculty Mentoring Award: Kurt Fletcher, professor and chair of physics and astronomy
  • Joseph M. O'Brien Award for Excellence in Part-Time Teaching: Timothy Tomczak, lecturer of psychology
  • James and Julia Lockhart Supported Professorship for Research and Creative Endeavors: Mary Mohan, associate professor of communication
  • Geneseo Alumni Association Supported Professorship: Jennifer Katz, associate professor of psychology