Apr. 03, 2012


Library Director Cyril Oberlander recently won the American Library Association Reference and User Services Association's Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished Interlibrary Loan Librarian Award for 2012. Retired Library Director Ed Rivenburgh received this award in 2011. This is the first time the same institution has won the award two years in a row.


James McGarrah, assistant professor of chemistry, and Benjamin Nagasing '13, a chemistry and mathematics major, will be participating in the U.S. Department of Energy's Summer 2012 Visiting Faculty Program. They will be working in collaboration with Karen Mulfort, assistant chemist in the Division of Chemical Sciences and Engineering at Argonne National Laboratory, in Argonne, Ill., on a project entitled, "Caging an Electrocatalyst: Investigations of Photocatalytic Hydrogen Generation using a Supramolecular Coordination Cage." The summer 2012 award includes direct support for 10 weeks in residence at Argonne National Laboratory, a summer stipend, and housing and travel allowances.


Professor of English Beth McCoy is co-editing Fair Matter, a blog on literature and culture that is hosted on W.W. Norton's literature portal. She is co-editing the blog with Erick Kelemen, a Fordham medievalist and author of "Textual Editing and Criticism: an Introduction," and Katherine Harris, an expert in digital humanities.