Nov. 09, 2011

Presidential scholars exemplify achievement and Geneseo values

Fifteen presidential scholars were recently named for the 2011-2012 academic year, representing a variety of academic areas. Chosen students are members of the senior class and serve as ambassadors for the college.

Students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.6 and demonstrate academic achievement across the curriculum, affirming Geneseo's values of excellence and innovation. Achievement could be involvement in major directed studies, substantial overseas studies, independent research, conference presentations, significant artistic projects and/or record of creativity. They must also be active within the community.

Presidential Scholars are nominated by faculty members and reviewed by a panel of faculty and students before being recommended to the provost for final approval.


  • Elizabeth Barber, an English and international relations major
  • Kaitlyn Gayvert, a mathematics major
  • Jesse Goldberg, an English and philosophy major
  • Donna Hanrahan, a political science and French major
  • Matthew Harris, a philosophy major
  • Kristen Kolb, a psychology major
  • Rebecca Kreuzer, a geological sciences major
  • Kristina Licatese, a Spanish major
  • Rebecca Meissner, a physics and Spanish major
  • Benjamin Peterson, a biochemistry major
  • Vishal Rajput, an accounting major
  • Abigail Sayler, a childhood/special education major
  • Hannah Schmidt, an English and art history major
  • Erik Sweet, a biochemistry major
  • Olga Varechtchouk, a biology major