Research Council

The Research Council encourages and promotes research and scholarly activities on the campus. It shall improve present means and initiate new means to help faculty and staff members to obtain external funding. The Research Council will accomplish these functions by helping to set research direction for the campus, initiating programs that will aid researchers and scholars, and reviewing applications for internal grants that will further advance research on campus and the procurement of external funding. The Research Council will review applications for faculty and student summer fellowships, student research assistantships, the Hurrell/McNaron award and review the status of research and scholarly activities on the campus.

Specific details about this group can be found in the Constitution of the Faculty: Article X, Section 1.

2015-2016 roster

Terms run from June 1 of the initial year to May 31 of the final year.






FacultyGeorge MarcusPhysics & Astronomy20152017Chair
FacultyMeredith HarriganCommunication20152017Vice Chair
FacultyPaul PachecoAnthropology20132016
FacultyLynette Bosch-BurroughsArt History20142017
FacultyJennifer AppleBiology20132016
FacultyKazushige YokoyamaChemistry20142017
FacultyBeth McCoyEnglish20132016
FacultyJennifer RogalskyGeography20132016
FacultyBenjamin LaabsGeological Sciences20132016

Ryan Jones

FacultyLori BernardLanguages & Literatures20152018
FacultyDouglas BaldwinMathematics20142017
FacultyAmanda RothPhilosophy20152018

Karleen West

Political Science & International Relations20152018
FacultyMichael LynchPsychology20152018
FacultyFarooq SheikhSchool of Business20132016
FacultyAnnmarie UrsoSchool of Education20142017
FacultyElaine CleetonSociology20142017
FacultyVACANTTheatre & Dance
Director of Sponsored ResearchAnne BaldwinSponsored Researchex officionon-voting
Teaching and Learning Center RepDavid ParfittTLCex officionon-voting
Administration and Finance repJim MilroyVP Admin & Finappointednon-voting
Administration and Finance repBetsy ColonGrants Managementappointednon-voting
Administration and Finance repTraci PhillipsSponsored Programsappointednon-voting



Sponsored Research page for information about the grants and other funding opportunities

Template for College Senate Bulletin Minutes