SUNYAC Swimming & Diving Championships

Men's Swimming & Diving

Sophomore Austin Brennan was named Male Swimmer of the Meet after winning two events, finishing third in another and swimming on two winning relays to lead the Geneseo men's swimming and diving team to their 13th consecutive SUNYAC championship with 854 points to second place Cortland's 674 at Erie Community College. Brennan won the 100-yard butterfly (52.00) and the 200 backstroke (1:54.80), finished third in the 100 back (53.64), teamed with juniors Josh Kaplan, Ken Pink and Dan Strothenke to win the 400 medley relay (3:29.40) and with sophomore Frank Schiappa, junior Aaron Wagner and Strothenke to win the 400 freestyle relay in 3:07.95. Senior Wills DeMoulin, Pink and junior Nate Foley each won a pair of events for the Blue Wave. DeMoulin, who earned Male Diver of the Meet, won both diving events with 455.10 on the one-meter board and a score of 489.75 on the three-meter board, Pink captured the 200 I.M. for the third year in a row with a time of 1:55.67 and the 200 breast for the third time with a time of 2:08.66, while Foley captured the 500 (4:41.56) and 1,650 (16:22.11) freestyles for the third time each. Junior C.J. Schaub won the 100 breast in a time of 57.27 after posting a SUNYAC, meet and school record and NCAA provisional qualifying time of 57.10 in the prelims, finished second in the 200 I.M. in 1:57.01, placed third in the 200 breast in 2:10.64 and teamed with Kaplan, Andrew Kuter and Schiappa to win the 200 medley in 1:35.04. Schiappa won the 50 freestyle in a national provisional time of 20.98 and Strothenke won the 100 free in 46.45 and placed second in the 50 free in a provisional time of 21.07. Head coach Paul Dotterweich earned SUNYAC Men's Coach of the Year for the fifth year in a row and eighth time in his 11 seasons.

Women's Swimming & Diving

Senior Michelle Rodriguez won three events and swam on one winning and four NCAA provisional qualifying relays to earn Female Swimmer of the Meet honors and lead the Geneseo women's swimming and diving team to their fourth consecutive SUNYAC championship with 771.5 points to runnerup New Paltz's 664.5 at Erie Community College. Rodriguez won the 500-yard freestyle in an NCAA provisional time of 5:00.12, won the 200 freestyle in a time of 1:52.13 after posting an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:52.08 in the prelims and swam a provisional time of 51.44 in winning the 100 freestyle. Rodriguez teamed with Jennifer Anthone, Lauren Boyce and Elyssa Max to win the 200 free relay in a provisional time of 1:36.77, with Boyce, Kaitlin Wilcoxen and Anthone to finish second in NCAA provisional times in both the 200 medley (1:47.98) and 400 medley (3:55.74) relays and with Max, Corinne Vairo and Anthone to finish second in the 400 free relay in a provisional time of 3:32.13. Sophomore Wilcoxen won the 200 breast in a provisional time of 2:24.57 and finished second in the 200 I.M. in 2:12.14, sophomore Meghan Green touched third in the 1,650 freestyle in a provisional time of 17:35.30, senior Kelly Battaglia was second in the 400 I.M. in 4:40.06 and Boyce finished second in the 200 back in 2:07.95. Rodriguez claimed the Grace Mowatt Award, the fifth time for Geneseo, given to the senior female with the most outstanding career achievement in SUNYAC swimming and diving. Rodriguez joins Amy Cleary '97, Michelle Standora '00, Erin Walsh '05 and Justine Diaz '08 on Geneseo's Mowatt winner list.