SUNYAC Announces Ice Hockey Awards

SUNYAC Men's Ice Hockey




First year Zachary Vit was selected as the SUNYAC Rookie of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches and announced on Thursday, February 24. Vit leads Geneseo with 35 points on 13 goals and 22 assists in 25 games, which ranks fourth in the SUNYAC.

Vit's 1.40 points per game leads Division III men's ice hockey in rookie scoring and is 23rd overall and is the sixth Ice Knight to claim Rookie of the Year, joining current assistant coach Kris Heeres (2003), Brett Walker (2002), Aaron Coleman (1998), Dave Tench (1989) and Terry Reilly (1985) as recipients.

Head coach Chris Schultz earns his first SUNYAC Coach of the Year honor in his six seasons and the award is the fourth overall for Geneseo and first SUNYAC Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year in 21 seasons as Paul Duffy was recognized three times (1985, 1986, 1990).