SUNYAC Announces Indoor Track & Field All-Stars

SUNYAC Indoor Track & Field




The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) announced the 2011 SUNYAC Indoor Track & Field All-Conference teams on Wednesday, March 2.

The Geneseo men, who finished second by one point to champion Buffalo State, placed three members on the first team and one member on the second team. Senior Mike McManus, who won the high jump, and juniors Lee Berube, who won the 3,000 meters, and Nwana Okafor, who won the long jump, claimed first team recognition. Junior Eddie Novara, who was second to Berube in the 3,000 meters, earned second team All-SUNYAC.

On the women's side, Geneseo captured second place to Buffalo State, placing two performers on the first team and two others on the second team. Sophomore Marissa Liberati, who won the 3,000 and 5,000 meters, and junior Alyssa Smith, who won the mile run for the third year in a row, earned first team All-SUNYAC. Sophomore Danae Polsin, who was second to Liberati in the 5,000 meters, and sophomore Cailin Kowalewski, who placed second in the 800 meters, garnered second team All-SUNYAC.