SUNYAC Announces Chancellor's Scholar-Athletes

SUNYAC Scholar-Athletes

The State University of New York Athletic Conference announced the winners of the SUNYAC Scholar-Athlete awards for the 2010-11 academic year and Geneseo claimed eight of the 24 awards, given to the member of their respective All-SUNYAC first or second team with the highest grade point average. Plattsburgh and Fredonia each claimed four awards, while Cortland garnered three.

In the fall, Geneseo winners were senior Lee Gabler (men's cross country), junior Julie Dmochowski (women's cross country), junior Ian Mort (men's soccer) and junior Katie Gayvert (women's tennis). The Blue Knights collected three awards for the winter season with junior Bri Dunton (women's basketball), junior Josh Kaplan (men's swimming & diving) and junior Danae Polsin (women's indoor track and field). Senior Carla Stephan of the women's equestrian team was the lone winner for the spring sports.

This is the first SUNYAC Scholar-Athlete award for each of the eight Geneseo winners. The Blue Knights have won 56 of the 180 awards (31.1%) conferred since inception of the award in 2003-04.