Equestrian Team Competes In Two Shows

Geneseo recorded 23 top-three finishes, including five first-place efforts, in its two weekend shows. In Saturday’s competition, senior Emily Oswald (Penn Yan/Marcus Whitman) was the highest Blue Knight finisher in Saturday’s show, taking first in novice flat. Sophomore Christa Pappalardo (Port Jefferson/Earl Vandermeulen) was second in beginner walk/trot/canter; senior Alex Powers (South New Berlin/Unadilla) placed second in intermediate flat; and senior April Krenzer (Livonia/Livonia) finished second in novice flat and novice fences. Senior Julie Philipson (Victor) took third in both intermediate fences and novice flat; junior Clarisse Birkby (Corfu/Pembroke) placed third in walk/trot; senior Ryan Lefkowitz (New Rochelle) finished third in open flat; and sophomore Emily Lockard (Pittsford/Mendon) was third in novice fences. As a team the Blue Knights finished fifth.  Powers took first in intermediate fences in Sunday’s competition, Lockard and Krenzer both recorded first-place finishes in novice flat and first year Sam Manduca (Selden/Newfield) added a win in walk/trot.  Lockard was also second in novice fences with Pappalardo was second in beginner walk/trot/canter. Senior Julie Philipson (Victor/Victor) placed second in intermediate flat; first year Emily Lindsay (Williamson/Williamson) finished second in advanced walk/trot/canter; and junior Amy Malsegna (Rochester/Rush-Henrietta) took second in advanced walk/trot/canter. Birkby finished third in walk/trot; Krenzer was third in novice fences; sophomore Anna Eschler (Pittsford/Mendon) placed third in advanced walk/trot/canter; and junior Jordan Jones (Eden/Eden) took third in advanced walk/trot/canter.

Saturday’s competition also featured the equestrian team’s annual Faculty Recognition Day. A total of eight faculty members were recognized: Christina Panagakis (sociology), Dr. Theodore Everett (philosophy), Dr. Linda House (communicative disorders & sciences), Dr. Douglas MacKenzie (communicative disorders & sciences), Dr. David Holtzman (biology), Dr. Gregg Hartvigsen (biology), Dr. Douglas Raynor (psychology) and Dr. Jennifer Katz (psychology).