First-Place Finish For #22 Men's Swimming & Diving

GENESEO, N.Y. – The Geneseo men’s swimming & diving team, ranked 22nd nationally, defeated three other teams to win the Geneseo Invitational Saturday. The Knights posted a winning score of 420 points, beating Brockport (293), Oswego (231) and Buffalo State (129).

Geneseo’s 12 first-place finishes included two individual wins for both senior Frank Schiappa (East Amherst/Canisius) and first year Kristian Tialios (Mount Tremper/Onteora).

Schiappa won the 50- and 100-yard freestyle, posting winning times of 21.54 and 48.42, respectively. He also anchored the winning 400-yard freestyle relay team.

Tialios placed first in the 200-yard individual medley in 2:01.76 and won the 100-yard backstroke in 56.37.

First year Yonghoon Jun (Nanuet/Tappan Zee) won the 100-yard butterfly in 51.76 and led off the winning 400 freestyle relay. Senior Austin Brennan (Stony Brook/Ward Melville) and sophomore Kenny Athans (Victor/Victor) rounded out the members of that relay team, which won in 3:17.05.

Junior Brandon Peifer (Monroe/Monroe-Woodbury) won both diving competitions, scoring 430.15 on the 1-meter board and 292.60 in the 3-meter event.

Sophomore John Nasky (Rochester/Brighton) placed first in the 500-yard freestyle (4:50.45) and sophomore Don McLoughlin (Waccabuc/John Jay) touched first in the 1,000-yard freestyle (10:27.60).

Junior Eric Maldonado (Setauket/Ward Melville) rounded out Geneseo’s individual winners, posting a score of 1:02.93 in the 100-yard breaststroke.

The Knights also won the 400-yard medley relay with first year Brian Yale (Johnson City/Maine-Endwell), first year Justin Ongkingco (Watertown/Watertown), Brennan and first year Tyler Roth (Fredonia/St. Francis) finishing first in 3:42.19.

In conjunction with its final home meet of the season, Geneseo celebrated its annual Faculty Recognition, honoring Robert Byrd (business), Dr. James McLean (physics) and Daniel Strang (business).

The Knights are idle until the SUNYAC Championships, which will be held Feb. 23 at Erie Community College. Geneseo has won the last 14 conference titles.