SUNYAC Honors Dotterweich, Max and Schiappa

Buffalo, N.Y. – The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) has announced its award winners following the Men’s and Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships, with Geneseo’s Paul Dotterwich named Women’s Coach of the Year, sophomore Abby Max (New Hartford/New Hartford) selected as Outstanding Women’s Swimmer and senior Frank Schiappa (East Amherst/Canisius) honored with the James Fulton Award.

led the Knights to their sixth straight team title. Geneseo recorded 10 NCAA championships qualifying performances and won seven events. The Knights broke six school records, four meet records and a pair of SUNYAC standards. Dotterwich is a three-time winner of the award, earning the honor in 2008 and 2009 (he’s also been named Men’s Coach of the Year seven times).

Max won a pair of individual titles and swam on three first-place relays. She won the 200- and 500-yard freestyles, posting NCAA “B” cut times of 1:51.54 and 4:58.11, respectively (the latter time set a meet record).

She anchored three winning relays: the 400-yard freestyle (NCAA “B” cut 3:30.85), 800-yard freestyle (NCAA “B” cut and meet record 7:37.97) and 400-yard medley (NCAA “B” cut, meet, conference and school record 7:37.97). Max also posted an NCAA “B” cut time of 2:05.65 in the 200-yard backstroke and swam the final leg on the 200-yard medley relay team that set a school record with an NCAA “B” time of 1:45.89.

Schiappa won the James Fulton Award, which honors a senior swimmer or diver based on all-America honors, all-SUNYAC honors, improvement throughout collegiate career and academic achievement. He’s a three-time individual SUNYAC champion and earned all-America honors with the 200-freestyle relay. Schiappa posted NCAA qualifying marks and school-record times in the 50 and 100-yard freestyles and with the 200 and 400-yard medley relays.