College Honors Retirees and Employee Service

GENESEO, N.Y. -- The State University of New York at Geneseo has honored 11 employees who retired in 2009-10 and 229 others for their years of service. President Christopher Dahl also presented the 2010 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service and three Geneseo Pride Awards.

Christie Reed, keyboard specialist in the Office of Admissions, received the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service. She was cited for going above and beyond to assist parents, co-workers, academic departments, staff and students seeking services from the department. SUNY established the award last year to recognize superior performance and extraordinary achievement by employees in the classified service.

The college presented Geneseo Pride Awards to Kimberly Harvey, assistant director of residence life; Diane Lounsbury, secretary in the political science and international relations department; and Susan Norman, director of the Xerox Center for Multicultural Education in the School of Education. Thirteen were nominated for the award, which recognizes significant contributions of non-teaching full-time or part-time employees in advancing the goals and mission of Geneseo.

Harvey's nomination noted her leadership abilities resulting in higher levels of responsibility within residential life. Lounsbury's nomination came from the entire department and cited her ability to handle her responsibilities with cheer and efficiency. Norman's nomination described her as a prime example of an employee whose passion for her position is reflected in her performance and demonstration of Geneseo's shared values.

The 11 retirees honored were James Allen; Steven Benchik; Penny Bovee, Kevin Callan; Richard Canfield; Linda Erwin; David Kelly; Deborah Lambert; Deborah Mott; and James Stenger. Retiree Shirley Farley was recognized posthumously. Her parents, Evelyn and Francis Farley, attended the luncheon to receive the recognition in her memory.

Also honored were 119 faculty and staff who completed 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service in 2009, and 110 faculty and staff with more than 25 years of service to the college.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516