College Honors Retirees and Employee Service

GENESEO, N.Y. -- The State University of New York at Geneseo has honored 55 employees who retired in 2010-11 and 245 others for their years of service. President Christopher Dahl also presented the 2011 SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service and three Geneseo Pride Awards. 

Stacy Colt, administrative aide in the human resources office, received the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service. She received the award for her work as Secretary 1 in the Communicative Disorders and Sciences Department. Those nominating Colt cited her outstanding interpersonal skills, dedicated work ethic, and leadership. SUNY established the award in 2008 to recognize superior performance and extraordinary achievement by employees in the classified service.

The college presented Geneseo Pride Awards to Paula Bill, secretary in the languages and literatures department; Donna Gerould, agency program aide in the athletics and recreation department; and Garry Morgan, area coordinator in residence life. There were 10 nominations for the award (1 group and 9 individuals), which recognizes significant contributions of non-teaching full-time or part-time employees in advancing the goals and mission of Geneseo.

Bill's nomination noted her superior organizational skills, integrity, warm and approachable demeanor, and her ability to handle difficult matters. Gerould's nomination called her the force behind the scenes in everything that happens in athletics. Morgan's nomination described his professionalism, work ethic, and ability to build connections with both students and staff .

The 55 retirees honored were Deborah Abbott; Lillian Agosto; Patricia Baird; Bruce Bennett; Terry Bovee; Joan Bush; Alice Button; John Carney; Joseph Conrad; Marjorie Cox; Lynne Crater; Lena Davis; Mark Drum; Michael Ellis; Carolyn Emmert; Joseph Ferrero; Richard Finkelstein; Donald Fox; Walter Freed, Jr.; Nancy Genova; Thomas Gibson; William Gohlman; James Goodell; Clyde Green; Linda Green; Teresa Hare; Kathleen Holbrook; Jeffrey Hopkins; Donna Howe; Sharon Huette;Ted Karnischky; Anna Kline; Wayne Lee; Pamela Little; Samuel Maggio, Jr.; Margaret Matlin; Roy Meissner; Joanne Menke,; Marilyn Moore; Ronald Morsch,; Lenwood Rider; Edwin Rivenburgh; Marjorie Rogers; Sherry Schwartz; Linda Shepard; Laureen Sherner; Mary Ellen Siraguse; Jean Smith; Loretta Stratton; Rogetta Timothy; Edward VanVliet; Clair Voss; Gwendolyn Wachholder; Zhiming Zhao; and Mary Ellen Zuckerman.

Also honored were 125 faculty and staff who completed 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service in 2010, and 120 faculty and staff with more than 25 years of service to the college.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516