College Honors Retirees and Employee Service


GENESEO, N.Y. -- The State University of New York at Geneseo has honored 21 employees who retired in 2011-12 and 245 others for their years of service. President Christopher Dahl also presented the 2012 SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service and three Geneseo Pride Awards. 

Donna Gerould, agency program aide in the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreation, received the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service. Those nominating Gerould cited her outstanding efficiency, dedication and cooperation. SUNY established the award in 2008 to recognize superior performance and extraordinary achievement by employees in the classified service.

The college presented Geneseo Pride Awards to Kelly Hoag, secretary in the Office of the Dean; Sue Mallaber, catering coordinator for Campus Auxiliary Services; and Joyce Miller, assistant director of student accounts. There were five nominations for the award, which recognizes significant contributions of non-teaching full-time or part-time employees in advancing the goals and mission of Geneseo.

Hoag's nomination noted her stellar organizational skills, integrity, care for students and her ability to brighten anyone's day with a laugh. Mallabar's nomination focused on her pursuit of excellence and willingness to go above and beyond to make sure every event she coordinates goes perfectly. Miller's nomination noted that she is always willing to meet the needs of others and is known for her amazing work ethic.

The retirees honored were Larry Blackman; Sharon Bossung; Janis Breedlove; Barbara Clarke; Donna Crocker; Christine Genesky; Barbara Howard; Diane Johnson; Rebecca Kelsch; Wilbur Knapp; Kenneth Levison; Paul MacLean; Dawn Mattson; Dale Metz; Sharon Roach; Barbara Sundlof; Kathleen Trainor; Jung Tsai; Anneliese Weibel; and Jerald Wrubel. President Dahl also recognized the late faculty member Linda Kirkwood, who retired last fall and passed away in January.

Also honored were 122 faculty and staff who completed 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service in 2011, and 125 faculty and staff with more than 25 years of service to the college.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516