Sort Order: 
Article Title: 
Section Content: 
Section 1: Committee on Nominations and Elections
  1. a. Membership: The membership of the Committee shall consist of six members of the teaching faculty, three of whom shall be elected each year before December 1 from a slate composed of nominations by the existing Committee on Nominations and Elections and from the floor. Member's terms shall start on December 1. The three candidates receiving the highest number of votes cast shall be elected for two-year terms. The Committee shall elect its own Chair. Re-election of any member shall be possible.
  2. b. Functions: 1. The Committee shall conduct elections for all offices and positions for which teaching faculty are eligible. The Committee shall prepare and submit a slate of two or more candidates for each position. 2. The Committee shall designate members to prepare an online ballot and conduct the voting procedure for each office in a timely way. At least three of the members of the Committee shall have administrator rights to the on-line ballot to examine election results. 3. The Committee shall notify eligible voters when elections begin and send a reminder one week before the end of the voting period. 4. The Committee shall notify the Chair of the Senate of the results of the balloting so s/he can notify the nominees of the results and announce same to the College community. 5. A secretary in the Office of the Provost will be responsible for maintaining the database of voters.

Section 2: Committee on Undergraduate Academic Standards a. Membership: The membership shall consist of eight or more members of the faculty. The members shall be appointed by the Dean of Curriculum and Academic Services in consultation with the Chair of the Senate. The Dean of Curriculum and Academic Services, a representative of the Vice President for Student and Campus Life, and a representative of the Director of Admissions shall serve as non-voting advisors b. Functions: The Committee will hold Academic Standards Hearings at the end of each academic semesater. The Committee will be convened by the Dean of Curriculum and Academic Services, and may be divided into subgroups in order to conduct, in a timely way, hearings for students subject to academic dismissal. Temporary chairs for each hearing subgroup will be designated by the Dean in consultation with the Committee. With respect to the hearings, the Committee shall reach one of two decisions which shall be implemented by the Dean of Curriculum and Academic Services: 1) uphold student dismissal; 2) permit student reinstatement provided he/she meets certain conditions stipulated by college policy or imposed by the Committee.

The School of Business has a new admission policy effective Fall 2015 (applicable to applications received on or before Dec. 1, 2015).  


This is the new admission criteria for the B.S. in Accounting, B.S. in Business Administration, and the B.A. in Economics.  Students should note the importance of taking the required lower-division courses and earning sufficient grades in those courses prior to applying for admission to the School of Business. 

Professional Development Events (PD Events) 2014-2015

Professional Development Events are held to support the continued professional growth of School of business students.  PD Events cover specific topics that relate to young professionals, but are not necessarily topics that are covered in the classroom.  Some examples include networking, employee benefits, interviewing techniques, interpersonal skills in the workplace, and diversity in the workplace.

Congratulations to Connor Keenan, Presidential Scholar

Connor Keenan, an Economics and Mathematics major has been named one of 15 Presidential Scholars for the 2015-2016 academic year.  According to Interim President Long a Presidential Scholar will be recognized as among the “best of the best” at SUNY Geneseo.  This high honor reflects Connor’s achievements as an outstanding academic and community leader.

Master's in Accounting Degrees Awarded

SUNY Geneseo awarded the Master of Science in Accounting to five School of Business graduate students at the Graduate Ceremony of the 149th Commencement on Friday, May 8, 2015.  Receiving degrees were Diana Castro, David Ellner, Michael Geen, Kathryn Gibson, and Ross Glickman.

2015 Presentations

Relational aggression


The page is unpublished !