Sep. 21, 2010

College Names 14 Presidential Scholars

Presidential Scholars

SUNY Geneseo Presidential Scholars for the 2010-11 academic year include (bottom row l to r) Maeghan Dineen, Dana Smith, Jennifer Nortz, and Kerisha Hawthorne; (middle row l to r) Lee Gabler, Adele Costa, James Bates and Stephanie Cristiano; (top row l to r) William Labate, Michael Siegenthaler and Matthew Siegenthaler. Unavailable for the photo were Michael Casamassima, Justin Christy and Erinn Kehoe.

GENESEO, N.Y. -- The State University of New York at Geneseo has named 14 Presidential Scholars for the 2010-11 academic year. A presidential scholar is a top-achieving member of the incoming senior class who exemplifies Geneseo's institutional values. The student also serves as an ambassador for the college.

To receive the honor, a student must hold a minimum grade point average of 3.6 and demonstrate academic achievement across the curriculum affirming Geneseo's values of excellence and innovation. Examples of such achievement could be involvement in major directed studies, substantial overseas studies, independent research, conference presentations, significant artistic projects and/or record of creativity. They also must demonstrate an active involvement with the community.

The following students were named Geneseo Presidential Scholars for 2010-11 (all hometowns are in New York unless otherwise noted): James Bates from Oswego; Michael Casamassima from Commack; Justin Christy from Greenwich; Stephanie Cristiano from Ardsley; Adele Costa from East Northport; Maeghan Dineen from Clifton Park; Lee Gabler from Ticonderoga; Kerisha Hawthorne from Montego Bay, Jamaica; Erinn Kehoe from Scotia; William Labate from Whitestone; Jennifer Nortz from Lowville; Matthew Siegenthaler and Michael Siegenthaler from Verona; and Dana Smith from Williamsville.

Presidential Scholars are nominated by faculty members and reviewed by a panel of faculty and students before being recommended to the provost for final approval.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516