May. 01, 2012

Four from SUNY Geneseo Receive 2012 Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence


From left to right: Kaitlyn Gayvert, Michael Roff, Elizabeth Lawrence and Jesse Goldberg.


GENESEO, N.Y. - Four State University of New York at Geneseo students are among those from SUNY campuses across the state who have received a 2012 Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence.

The chancellor presented the award to the following Geneseo students, all seniors, at a recent ceremony in Albany:


  • Kaitlyn Gayvert, a mathematics major from Fairport, N.Y.
  • Jesse Goldberg, an English and philosophy double major from Lake Ronkonkoma, N.Y.
  • Elizabeth Lawrence, an accounting major from Sandy Creek, N.Y.
  • Michael Roff, an English/pre-med major from Huntington Station, N.Y.


"The students we honor today have taken full advantage of the academic and extracurricular programs that SUNY provides both in the classroom and in the community," said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. "These proven leaders, athletes, artists, and civic volunteers truly represent the power of SUNY. I congratulate all of the students being recognized today and thank them for the positive impact each has had on New York State, our university system, and the communities we serve.

The Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence was created 14 years ago to recognize students who have best demonstrated, and been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts or career achievement.

Each year, campus presidents establish a selection committee, which reviews exemplary members of their college communities who are graduating. Nominees are then forwarded to the Chancellor's Office and are subject to a second round of review. Finalists are then recommended to the chancellor to become recipients of the Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence.

Each recipient received a framed certificate and medallion, which is traditionally worn at commencement.


Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516