May. 06, 2011

Geneseo Faculty Elects 76 Students to Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa symbol

GENESEO, N.Y. - Faculty members at the State University of New York at Geneseo have elected 76 students to the college's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most widely known academic honor society.

Students from the junior and senior classes are selected each spring for membership into the organization. Geneseo is the only undergraduate SUNY college with a Phi Beta Kappa chapter, one of only 280 chapters in the nation. The Geneseo chapter was created in 2004.

The following students were elected from the senior class (all hometowns are in New York unless noted otherwise):

James Bates from Oswego; Anjali Bermain from Saugerties; Abigail Besch from Alden; Laura Best from Henrietta; Catherine Bijur from Avon, Conn.; Alison Bowen from Cheektowaga; Alison Bradley from Limerick, Pa.; Garrett Burger from Hyde Park; Michael Canfield from Syracuse; Boning Chen from Sichuan, China; Chong Choe from Livonia; Janna Cisterino from Greenport; Stephanie Cristiano from Ardsley; Maeghan Dineen from Clifton Park; Joel Dodge from Liverpool; Emily Doyle from Cuba; Bridget Dunn from Marcellus; Brett Fiedler from Grand Island; Lee Gabler from Ticonderoga; AnneMarie Glose from Syracuse; Michelle Gregor from Kings Park; Taylor Grogan from Mastic; Katherine Hart from Glenmont; Robert Henchen from Geneseo; Kimberly Hinman from Albany; Satoko Hirano from Hiroshima, Japan; Sierra Hunt from Glendale; Erinn Kehoe from Scotia; Alex Kovalovsky from Canandaigua; Cara Kowalski from Saratoga Springs; Kaitlyn Kremer from Salem; William Labate from Whitestone; Caitlin Lamoreaux from Rochester; Melissa Lamson from Lafayette; Cassandra Lange from Grand Island; Sarah Leahy from Rochester; Sara Lewandowski from Camillus; Sophia Lind from Spencer; Emma Loe from New Hartford; Samantha MacDonald from Rochester; Gian Martinelli from Jamestown; Anna McDonough from Mahwah, N.J.; Stan McKay from Perry; Amanda McLaughlin from Byron; Daniel Megelick from Endicott; Sara Morningstar from Churchville; Lindsey Picard from Hamlin; Dustin Rabideau from Plattsburgh; Emily Reding from Peru; Kyle Rodrigues from Central Islip; Peter Rosenberg from Port Washington; Melanie Schukrafft from Warwick; Beth Semel from Elmira; Matthew Siegenthaler from Verona; Andrew Smith from Port Jervis; Dana Smith from Williamsville; Eric Svenson from East Aurora; Ally Taveniere from Rhinebeck; Tracie Terrana from Afton; Ashley Tinney from Barton; John Tomlinson from Bloomfield; Michelle VanHorne from Webster; Brittney Walker from Wappingers Falls; Elizabeth Weybright from Pleasant Valley; Hannah Whitcomb from Massena; and Christopher Zorn from Rochester.

The following students were elected from the junior class (all hometowns are in New York unless noted otherwise):

Shea Frazier from Orchard Park; Suzanna Friedman from Batavia; Donna Hanrahan from Massapequa; Kristen Kolb from Cortlandt Manor; Rebecca Kreuzer from Honeoye Falls; David O'Donnell from Cortland; William Porter from Manlius; Daniel Rossi from Rome; Audrey Stevens from Canandaigua; and Olga Varechtchouk from Webster.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516