SUNY Geneseo News & Events http://www.geneseo.edu/rss/news_events en Hope Springs Eternal as Bills Open Training Camp http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/hope-springs-eternal-bill-open-training-camp <p>Looking back, perhaps multimedia journalist Chris Brown ’94 was destined to end up at 1 Bills Drive in Orchard Park, N.Y.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:47:29 +0000 irwin 63628 at http://www.geneseo.edu Geneseo Reunion Alumni Respond in a Big Way http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/geneseo-alumni-respond-big-way <p>GENESEO, N.Y. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 20:52:04 +0000 irwin 63623 at http://www.geneseo.edu SUNY Chancellor Honors Excellence Among Geneseo Faculty and Staff http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/suny-chancellor-honors-excellence-among-geneseo-faculty-and-staff-1 <p>GENESEO, N.Y. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 17:04:01 +0000 irwin 63595 at http://www.geneseo.edu Denise Rotondo Named New Dean of the School of Business http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/denise-rotondo-named-new-dean-school-business <p>GENESEO, N.Y. -- SUNY Geneseo has named Denise Rotondo the new dean of the <a href="http://www.geneseo.edu/business">School of Business</a>.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:32:10 +0000 irwin 63598 at http://www.geneseo.edu Meaghan Arena Appointed Vice President for Enrollment Management http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/meaghan-arena-appointed-vice-president-enrollment-management <p>GENESEO, N.Y. – SUNY Geneseo Interim President Carol S. Long has announced that Meaghan L. Arena has been named vice president for enrollment management. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 13:59:57 +0000 irwin 63570 at http://www.geneseo.edu Fiske Guide Places Geneseo Among 44 Best-Buy Schools in the U.S., Canada and U.K. http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/fiske-guide-places-geneseo-among-44-best-buy-schools-us-canada-and-uk <p><b>GENESEO, N.Y.</b> – SUNY Geneseo is among 44 “Best Buy Schools” in the U.S., Canada and the United Kingdom, named in the 2015 edition of “The Fiske Guide to Colleges.” Inclusion on the list in t Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:38:01 +0000 irwin 63567 at http://www.geneseo.edu Reunion Weekend is Underway! http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/reunion-weekend-july-11-12 <p>GENESEO, N.Y. – An estimated 700 SUNY Geneseo alumni and friends are returning for Summer Reunion July 11-12 for a full weekend of activities and entertainment on campus and in the village.</p> Mon, 01 Jul 2013 14:52:22 +0000 irwin 63560 at http://www.geneseo.edu College Welcomes 4-H Teen Press Corps http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/college-welcomes-4-h-teen-press-corps <p><em>Department of Communication faculty member Mike Saffran works with high-school and junior-high-school students on campus this week to hone their journalism skills during the first 4-H Teen Pres Fri, 27 Jun 2014 19:01:28 +0000 irwin 63550 at http://www.geneseo.edu Marilyn Moore Receives Distinguished Service Award http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/marilyn-moore-receives-distinguished-service-award <p>GENESEO, N.Y. -- Former SUNY Geneseo Director of Athletics and Recreation <strong>Marilyn Moore</strong> received the 2014 Patrick R. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 16:34:38 +0000 irwin 63495 at http://www.geneseo.edu GRAMMY Foundation Grant Will Preserve James Kimball's Rare Instrument Recordings http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/grammy-foundation-grant-will-preserve-james-kimballs-rare-instrument-recordings <p><em>A GRAMMY Foundation grant to Livingston Arts will support the preservation of SUNY Geneseo ethnomusicologist James Kimball's recordings of traditional New York state musicians and music. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:21:16 +0000 irwin 63497 at http://www.geneseo.edu Geneseo Alumnus in Normandy for D-Day Commemoration http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/geneseo-alumnus-normandy-d-day-commemoration <p><em>Craig Wadsworth '95 at the Geneseo airport prior to his flight to France on Whiskey 7 for D-Day events.</em></p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 16:58:51 +0000 irwin 63372 at http://www.geneseo.edu The Greek Challenge: Race to the Finish http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/greek-challenge-race-finish <p><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br> Tue, 04 Jun 2013 17:41:17 +0000 irwin 63367 at http://www.geneseo.edu Ganie DeHart Named SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/ganie-dehart-named-suny-distinguished-teaching-professor <p>GENESEO, N.Y. Thu, 15 May 2014 12:47:34 +0000 irwin 63295 at http://www.geneseo.edu Sherry Leung Wins COPLAC Essay Award http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/senior-sherry-leung-wins-coplac-essay-award <p>GENESEO, N.Y – A SUNY Geneseo graduate, <b>Sherry Leung,</b> has won the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges (COPLAC) David J. Fri, 09 May 2014 14:46:51 +0000 irwin 63210 at http://www.geneseo.edu Geneseo Remembers Alex Davis http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/geneseo-remembers-alex-davis <p>The Geneseo campus community honored fellow student Alex Davis at a candlelight vigil Thursday night.</p> Thu, 09 May 2013 19:46:38 +0000 irwin 63216 at http://www.geneseo.edu Both Undergraduate Commencement Ceremonies to be Streamed Live http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/both-undergraduate-commencement-ceremonies-be-streamed-live <p>Both the 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. SUNY Geneseo undergraduate commencement ceremonies on May 17 will be streamed live <a href="http://www.ustream.tv/channel/gsu-commencement">here</a>.</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 20:31:34 +0000 irwin 63219 at http://www.geneseo.edu English Department to Recognize K-8th Grade Peace Poetry Contest Winners May 11 http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/english-department-recognize-k-8th-grade-peace-poetry-contest-winners <p>GENESEO, N.Y. – SUNY Geneseo's Department of English will recognize the winners of the Genesee Valley Peace Poetry Contest May 11 at 3 p.m. in Wadsworth Auditorium on campus. Fri, 09 May 2014 13:17:05 +0000 irwin 63199 at http://www.geneseo.edu Undergraduate Commencement May 17; Master’s Degree Ceremony May 10 http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/undergraduate-commencement-may-17-master%E2%80%99s-degree-ceremony-may-10 <p>GENESEO, N.Y. – SUNY Geneseo President Emeritus Christopher C. Dahl will deliver the keynote address for the college’s two undergraduate commencement ceremonies May 17 in the Ira S. Mon, 06 May 2013 13:41:45 +0000 irwin 63180 at http://www.geneseo.edu Geneseo Students Capture Prestigious Fulbright, Gilman Awards http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/geneseo-students-capture-prestigious-fulbright-gilman-awards <p><em>Graduating senior Hannah Hunter, Geneseo's latest Fulbright Award winner, will be going to Malaysia to teach in either a primary or secondary school.</em></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 16:13:28 +0000 irwin 63131 at http://www.geneseo.edu Geneseo Symphony, Festival Chorus May 4 in Wadsworth Auditorium to Feature a Variety of Works http://www.geneseo.edu/news_events/geneseo-symphony-festival-chorus-may-4-wadsworth-auditorium-features-variety-works <p>GENESEO, N.Y. – Works by Bizet and Strauss will highlight the Geneseo Symphony Orchestra’s spring concert May 4 in Wadsworth Auditorium. Thu, 01 May 2014 18:39:05 +0000 irwin 63127 at http://www.geneseo.edu