Photo of James Bearden

James Bearden
Emeritus
SUNY Geneseo
1 College Circle
Geneseo, NY 14454-1401
585-245-5335
Email

Accommodations Course Values Truth & Objectivity? Anecdotal Evidence Opinion vs. Evidence Grading Rubric Geneseo Online Writing Guide Grades in my Outbox
Recommendation Letter
Human Evolution philosophy bites Radio Rookies Smart City Radio Annual Dryden Labor Film Series Thinking Allowed: BBC podcast
jamesbearden.net Bearden's tumblr Websites maintained by James Bearden ROCLA Band of Rebels

Schedule Socl376 Senior Seminar Spring 2007

Week 1

Wednesday, January 17, 2007

Week 2

Monday, January 22, 2007

Scott Nelson. 2005 "Who Was John Henry? Railroad Construction, Southern Folklore, and the Birth of Rock and Roll." Labor: Studies in Working-Class History of the Americas. 2(2):53-79.

Chapter 1. "The Promise" in The Sociological Imagination

Wednesday, January 24, 2007

Chapter 2. "Grand Theory" and Chapter 3. "Abstracted Empiricism" in The Sociological Imagination

Week 3

Monday, January 29, 2007

Chapter 4. "Types of Practicality" and Chapter 5. "The Bureaucratic Ethos" in The Sociological Imagination

Wednesday, January 31, 2007

Chapter 6. "Philosophies of Science" in The Sociological Imagination

Week 4

Monday, February 5, 2007

Chapter 7. "The Human Variety," Chapter 8. "Uses of History" and Chapter 9. "On Reason and Freedom" in The Sociological Imagination

Wednesday, February 7, 2007

Frozen pipes burst in Sturges, no class

Week 5

Monday, February 12, 2007

Chapter 10. "On Politics" in The Sociological Imagination

Wednesday, February 14, 2007

Snow day, no class

Week 6

Monday, February 19, 2007

Appendix. "On Intellectual Craftsmanship" and the afterward by Todd Gitlin in The Sociological Imagination

Norman K. Denzin. 1990. "On the Sociological Imagination Revisited" Sociological Quarterly 31(1):1-22.

Wednesday, February 21, 2007

Week 7

Monday, February 26, 2007

Read one of the chapters in The Disobedient Generation: Social Theorists in the Sixties, on reserve in Milne

Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Beginning of Topic Discussions

Week 8

Monday, March 5, 2007

Wednesday, March 7, 2007

Spring Break No Class Monday, March 13, 2007 or Wednesday, March 15, 2007

Week 9

Monday, March 19, 2007

Love/Gender - Moriarty, Gonzalez

Wednesday, March 21, 2007

Wealth/Money/Power - Bachman, Kalman, Koson, Spears, Wheeler

Week 10

Monday, March 26, 2007

Music - Cunningham, Hobson, Jones

Wednesday, March 28, 2007

Media - Gustafson, Moriarty, Wheeler

Week 11

Monday, April 2, 2007

Drink - Cunningham, Gielow, Jones

Wednesday, April 4, 2007

Black British novelist, playwright and non fiction writer Valerie Mason-John, who also goes by the moniker Queenie will perform at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 4, in Sturges Auditorium. The Senior Seminar is cancelled for this event. Extra Credit for anyone who attends and sends an email reaction comment on the performance.

Week 12

Monday, April 9, 2007

Inequality - Delgado, Park, Turk

Wednesday, April 11, 2007

Individuality - Bachman, Kalman, Koson

Week 13

Monday, April 16, 2007

Community - Hinman, Hobson, Redden

Incomplete: To be fit in where possible. Park, Tavares, Turk

Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Peace/War/Health - Catafalmo, Spears, Delgado, Gielow, Gonzalez


Term Paper due by 5:00 PM, April 20, 2007. Submit it to Turnitin.com. Class ID 1784476


Week 14

Monday, April 23, 2007

Autobiographical Presentations

Wednesday, April 25, 2007

Autobiographical Presentations

Week 15

Monday, April 30, 2007

Autobiographical Presentations

Final Exam, 3:30 PM Monday, May 7, 2007 Sturges 106

Autobiographical Presentations