Sigma Gamma Epsilon - Eta Rho

  • Several new members were inducted into Eta Rho in spring 2009 (photo coming soon).


In April 2007, eighteen charter members established the Sigma Gamma Epsilon: Eta Rho chapter at SUNY Geneseo. Eta Rho is the first Earth Science Honor Society chapter in the 140 years of Geneseo education history. Sigma Gamma Epsilon is the National Honor Society for the Earth Sciences, established at the University of Kansas in 1915. We aim for the scholastic, scientific, and professional advancement of our members and the extension of relations of friendship and assistance among the college community. This can take on the form of fundraising, volunteering, and taking part in Eta Rho activities.

Any person in any branch of the Earth Sciences who has completed at least 10 semester hours or 15 quarter hours in Earth Science courses and has maintained a minimum 3.0 G.P.A. (on a 4.0 system) in all Earth Science courses together with an overall G.P.A. of 2.67 in all college courses is qualified for membership. Current members vote to admit new members who apply.

Eta Rho officers
PresidentSean Sanguinito
Vice President-Historian
Dana Smith
Secretary-TreasurerSamantha Nemkin
Corresponding Secretary-Editor
Chelsea Lyle
 Faculty Advisor
 Dori Farthing



SGE 2008 initiation
2008 Initation (L-R): Dr. Dori Farthing, Dr. Amy Sheldon, Daisy Sheldon (baby), Irene Rizza, Kelly howe, Nick Sullivan*, Jenna Hojnowski, Matt Travis*, Jean Danaher*, Matt Travis*, Kathleen Sharman, Will Pierce*, Patrick Morgan*, Kim Scalise*, Patrick Donohue, Nick Inzinna, Dr. Ben J.C. Laabs, Dr. Scott Giorgis, Dominick Giorgis (baby).  Asterisk denotes new initiate.


SGE - Eta Rho charter members


Charter Members (L-R) Top: Kelly Howe, Clay Mansfield, Kathleen Sharman, Reid Polmanteer, Kim Johnson, Craig Stephens, Rachel Vivenzio, Dan Roach, Hannah Hanford, Mary Kosloski, Amanda Wood, Jenna Hojnowski, Irene Rizza
Bottom: Henry Adams, Nick Toole, Nick Inzinna, Patrick Donohue, Bob Sirianni