May. 08, 2013

Geneseo Faculty Elects 75 Students to Phi Beta Kappa


GENESEO, N.Y. – Faculty members at the State University of New York at Geneseo have elected 75 students to the college's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most widely known academic honor society. Students from the junior and senior classes are selected each spring for membership into the organization.

About 10 percent of the nation's institutions of higher learning have a Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Geneseo is the only undergraduate SUNY college with a chapter, which was created in 2004.

The following students were elected from the senior class (all hometowns are in New York unless noted otherwise):

Jobina Alexander, Pelham; Vanessa Amaral, Uberaba, MG, Brazil; Matthew Andrews, Pittsford; Patrick Asselin, Rochester; Gretchen Barkhuff, Clifton Park; Sandra Bender, East Greenbush; Stephanie Berland, Williamsville; Jaclyn Brown, Merrick; Connor Burgevin, Trumansburg; John Carlson, Poughkeepsie; Lila Chambers, Hyde Park; Megan Cicolello, Brooklyn; Liane Colangelo, Kings Park; Samuel Colbert, Westbury; Raymond Cook, Vernon; Patrick Daniels, Greene; Kala Destefano, Germantown; Erin Dorset, Clifton Park; Noah Dukler, New Paltz; Thomas Fisher, Rochester; Dana Fitzpatrick, Northport; Joseph Flynn, Kings Park; Brandyn Friedly, Ontario; Eric Gomez, Lagrangeville; Eric Gratien, East Syracuse; Sarah Greenberg, Horseheads; Jeffrey Handy, Norwich; Allison Hoppe, Philmont; Dale Iglesia, Branchburg; Fangyuan Jin, ZheJiang Province, China; Mary Kay Kelley, Fillmore; Bridget Kelly, Bayport; Stephen Kowalewski, West Seneca; Kathryn Kreidler, Getzville; Louis Lohraseb, Schenectady; Evan Losh, Fairport; Logan Mahlum, Endwell; Yael Massen, Coram; Diana McGrath, Medford; James Muller, Sayville; Andrew Perry, Manlius; Kelsey Quest, Auburn; Kristin Rabb, Fairport; Hillary Rich, Phelps; Mary Ross, Clinton; Benjamin Sapadin, Brooklyn; Sally Schaefer, Eden; Jonathan Schultz, Farmingville; Caroline Schwartz, Rochester; Kelly Scolaro, New York City; Justin Shapiro, Buffalo; Kevin Siegenthaler, Verona; Maria Sigalas, Coram; James Sincebaugh, Rochester; Shadman Sinha, Clifton Park; Solomon Steinke, Lima; Erin Steinwachs, East Amherst; Collin Stillman, Clarence; Saskie Talay, Floral Park; Peter Thompson, Corning; Anh Quoc Tran, Hanoi, Vietnam; Grace Trompeter, West Sand Lake; Adrienne Tucker, Washington, D.C.; Michaela Walsh, Liverpool; Samuel White, Fayetteville; Melanie Wiederhold, New Hyde Park; Julie Williams, Penfield; and Cory Young, Pittsford.

The following students were elected from the junior class (all hometowns are in New York unless noted otherwise):

Kristen Balschunat, Queensbury; Katie Becker, New Hartford; Joseph Geraghty, West Islip; Ian MacPherson, Wilbraham, Mass.; Katrina Steinley, West Chester, Pa; Suraj Uttamchandani, Dix Hills; and Rita Wheeler, Piffard.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5516