Mar. 26, 2014

Geneseo Faculty Elects 80 Students to Phi Beta Kappa


GENESEO, N.Y. – Faculty members at the State University of New York at Geneseo have elected 80 students to the college’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most widely known academic honor society. Students from the junior and senior classes are selected each spring for membership into the organization.

About 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher learning have a Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Geneseo is the only undergraduate SUNY college with a chapter, which was created in 2004.

The following students were elected from the senior class (all hometowns are in New York unless noted otherwise):

Allison Abbot, Centerport; Sarah Ackerman, Stony Brook; Sarah Ahern, Hauppauge; Dilnoza Amirkulova, Brooklyn; Craig Benson, Rochester; Alexander Chichester, Mt. Morris; Mary Coble, Horseheads; Marah Dahn, Fredonia; Erin Davidowicz, New City; Tyler DeRubio, Babylon; Elizabeth Dierenfield, Buffalo; Laura Duclos, Clifton Park; Drew Ellison, Lake Ronkonkoma; Joseph Figliolia, Forest Hills; Clare Flynn, Storrs, CT; James Ford, Peru; Lucas Fredericks, VanEtten; Sara Gearhart, East Aurora; Jessica Gerber, Springville; Erin Girard, Massena; Carolyn Greenwood, Buffalo; Katherine Gullo, Liverpool; Elizabeth Haussner, Centereach; Celeste Hoelzl, Wilton, CT; Maya Horton, Huntington; Bethany Hyland, Rochester; Justin Joyce, Port Washington; Paul Kennedy, Cooperstown; Rebecca Kohlman, Churchville; Ethan Koreff, Wantagh; Nicholas Kreuder, Hamburg; Carolyn Levinn, East Nassau; Bibi Lewis, New York; Anna Li, Brooklyn; Nathaniel Maggio, Webster; Alexandra Mandarano, Spencerport; Mehek Mehta, West Henrietta; Alexandra Morell, Grand Island; Michael Nellist, Rochester; Erin O’Brien, Barberton, OH; Laura O’Brien, Oswego; Kimberly Olsen, East Williston; Peter Olsen-Harbich, Mattituck; Christine O’Neill, Pawling; Gregory Palermo, Bayside Hills; Queeny Pan, Brooklyn; Rena Pazienza, Castleton; Michael Pilosov, Fresh Meadows; Gentaro Ramadhan, Rochester; Elizabeth Reck, Syracuse; Martin Rogachefsky, Rochester; Roma Silvia, Albany; Steven Rosenzweig, Clifton Park; Ava Russell, Lodi; James Ryan, Avon; Andrew Samer, Cheektowaga; Leslie Shelton, Smithtown; Rachel Simonds, Victor; Lauren Slezak, Albany; Douglas Steen, Eden; Patrick Stegemoeller, Poestenkill; Herbert Susmann, Ithaca; Dante Tufano, Thornwood; Emily Vanocker, Rochester; Laura Victor, Yorktown Heights; Molly Vierhile, Fairport; Emily Wanamaker, Camillus; Jason Wang, Merrick; Katherine Weber, Monroe; Meagan Wheatley, Geneva; Elizabeth White, Geneseo; and Madeline Zebertavage, Williston, VT.

The following students were elected form the junior class (all hometowns are in New York unless noted otherwise):

Chelsea Butkowski, Tonawanda; Jennifer Grom, Pleasantville; Sean Neill, New York; Michael O’Boyle, Centereach; Rachel Olin, Oceanside; Emily Redington, Averill Park; Carsen Sulzer, Saugerties; and Yasmine Taha, Rochester.

Also elected this year were alumnus Gregory Ahlquist, a 1995 Geneseo graduate and history teacher, who was named the 2013 New York State Teacher of the Year, and a new honorary member, Paul Pacheco, associate professor of anthropology at Geneseo.

News release written by College Communications intern Jennifer Kim.

Media Contact:
David Irwin
Media Relations Manager
(585) 245-5529