Geneseo's 2018-19 Presidential Scholars

Presidential Scholars

SUNY Geneseo President Denise A. Battles and Provost Stacey M. Roberston with the 2018-19 Presidential Scholars. (SUNY Geneseo photo/Keith Walters '11)

Fourteen SUNY Geneseo students are Presidential Scholars for the 2018-19 academic year, representing a variety of academic areas and exemplifying the college's institutional values. A presidential scholar is a top-achieving member of the senior class who also serves as an ambassador for the college.

To receive the honor, a student must hold a minimum grade point average of 3.6 and demonstrate academic achievement across the curriculum, affirming Geneseo's values of excellence and innovation. Examples of such achievement could be an involvement in major directed studies, substantial overseas studies, independent research, conference presentations, significant artistic projects and/or record of creativity. They also must demonstrate an active involvement with the community.

This year’s cohort has a 3.87 average GPA and represents 11 majors, 6 minors, 3 Edgar Fellows and numerous disciplines, including biochemistry, biology, early childhood/childhood education, English, French, geography, history, mathematics, music, political science and theatre.

The Presidential Scholars meet regularly with the provost and each year, take on an initiative to support academic excellence at Geneseo. This year’s group is still determining what they will focus on but are considering issues such as retention and integrative learning initiatives.

The following students are Geneseo Presidential Scholars for the 2018-19 academic year (all hometowns are New York):

  • Patrick Buckley — a biochemistry major with a minor in the Edgar Fellows Honors Program (Elmira)
  • Gena Driscoll-Brantley — a double major in geography and mathematics (Rochester)
  • Sara Feinland — a biochemistry major with minors in psychology and the Edgar Fellows Honors Program (Clifton Park)
  • Jennifer Galvao — an English literature major with a minor in the Edgar Fellows Honors Program (Yorktown Heights)
  • Erin Kesel — a biology major with a minor in biomathematics (Canandaigua)
  • Melanie Kirk — a double major in biology and mathematics (Wantagh)
  • Lila Klatz — a theatre major with a minor in musical theatre (Flushing)
  • Ashley Law — a double major in history and political science with a minor in the Edgar Fellows Honors Program (Cuba)
  • Trisha Mainim — a biology major (Jamesville)
  • Jack McKeown — a history major with a pre-med track (Conesus)
  • Mallory Mrozinski — a double major in political science and French (Schenectady)
  • Tayler Nguyen — a double major in early childhood/childhood education and violin performance with a music education track (Penfield)
  • Isabel Owen — a double major in English and history with a double minor in black studies and Latin American studies (Great Neck)
  • Colleen Steward — a biochemistry major (Gowanda)


Monique Patenaude, PhD
Director of Media Relations
(585) 245-5056