Seven from Geneseo Receive SUNY Scholar-Athlete Awards

SUNY logo

The announcement Wednesday of SUNY Scholar-Athlete Awards included seven from Geneseo.

Seven SUNY Geneseo student-athletes were named recipients of the 2017-18 State University of New York Scholar-Athlete Award, in recognition of outstanding academic excellence and athletic achievement. SUNY Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson recognized all of this year’s recipients in announcing the awards Wednesday.

This year's honorees include sophomore Marissa Cossaro (outdoor track and field); Elise Ramirez (cross country); Sarea Shariff (equestrian); Jeff Doser (men's swimming & diving); Luke Hotlzman (indoor track and field); Natalie LaCourt (swimming and diving) and Laura Piazza (indoor track and field).

“It is my pleasure to congratulate our Scholar Athlete awardees for their achievement in the classroom, and on the playing field,” said SUNY Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson. “Whether competing at a Division I or intramural level, all of those honored today are committed to excellence in their athletic pursuits, sportsmanship, and personal development. They balance a challenging workload, while demonstrating leadership and service.”

In order to be considered for this award, student athletes were nominated by their campus athletic director. Nominees' academic credentials and athletic accomplishments were then reviewed by a panel of athletic directors from across the SUNY system and members of the SUNY provost's office.

Geneseo's seven recipients were the highest total out of the 10 members in the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC).