Skip to main content

2020-2021 Presidential Scholars Named

A student enters Sturges Hall. (SUNY Geneseo/Keith Walters '11)

Twelve Geneseo students were recently selected to serve as Presidential Scholars for the 2020-2021 academic year. They represent a variety of academic areas and exemplify the College's institutional values. A presidential scholar is a top-achieving member of the senior class who also serves as an ambassador for the College.

To receive the honor, a student must hold a minimum grade point average of 3.6, have a minimum of 70 credits (at least 24 earned at Geneseo), and plan to graduate in May or August of the following year. Additionally, the student must demonstrate academic achievement across the curriculum, affirming Geneseo's values of excellence and innovation with experiences such as major directed studies, substantial overseas studies, independent research, conference presentations, significant artistic projects or a record of creativity, and demonstrate Geneseo's value of integrity in academic and community life. The Presidential Scholars meet regularly with the provost during the academic year and assist with various campus activities.

This year's cohort represents 14 majors, 11 minors, 2 Edgar Fellows and numerous disciplines.

Emma Barrett, a geography major with a minor in urban studies

Margaret Deahn, a geological sciences major with minors in geography and mathematics

David Keeley, a biochemistry major

Emma Mandella, a dual English and philosophy major

Meenu Mundackal, a biology major with a minor in human development

Drew O'Neil, a sociomedical sciences major with minors in enviornmental studies and public administration

Katherine Peter, a dual history and American studies major with minors in political science and the Edgar Fellows Honors Program

Sophia Piazza, a dual communication and French major with a minor in mathematics

Noelle Staso, a mathematics major with a minor in biology

Jillian Todd, a women's and gender studies major with a minor in Native American studies

Gavin Vaughan, a psychology major with a minor in cognitive science

Laura Williams, a biochemistry major with minors in Spanish and the Edgar Fellows Honors Program

Learn more:


Kris Dreessen
Manager of Editorial Services
(585) 245-5516