Skip to main content

Academic Calendar

The SUNY Geneseo academic calendar outlines the schedule of classes, breaks and holidays during the academic year. A list of legal holidays can be found on the Human Resources website. Please also note the Office of Diversity and Equity's Calendar of Selected Cultural Holidays.

Tip: Add it to Google - Visit the Geneseo Academic Calendar (Google). Click the "+" button in the lower right to add it to your Google calendar account.

Academic Year 2021–2022

Fall 2021 (August 30–December 21, 2021)
Date Day Information
August 1 Sunday
  • Payment deadline for advance-registered undergraduate students for Fall 2021
August 16 Monday
  • Registration opens for all students
August 26 Thursday
  • Residence halls open at 8:00 am for new students
  • New Student Convocation (6:30 pm)
August 27 Friday
  • Residence halls open at 10:00 am for continuing students
August 29 Sunday
  • Last day to withdraw with 100% refund of tuition and fees
August 30 Monday
  • First day of classes
  • Last day to register without late fee
  • Add/Drop period begins
September 3 Friday
  • Deadline for Directed Study & Internship submission
September 5 Sunday
  • Add/Drop period ends at 11:55 pm
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 100% refund of tuition
September 6 Monday
  • Labor Day - No classes
  • Withdrawal period begins
September 12 Sunday
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 70% refund of tuition
September 19 Sunday
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 50% refund of tuition
September 20 Monday
  • Grad check holds posted
September 26 Sunday
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 30% refund of tuition
October 8 Friday
  • Last day for completion of work for Incomplete grades for courses from last Spring
October 11-12 Mon-Tu
  • Fall Break - No classes
  • Residence halls remain open
October 13 Wednesday
  • Incomplete grades due
  • Advisement holds posted
October 15 Friday
  • Grad application deadline for seniors graduating in May/August 2022
October 18 Monday
  • Spring and Intersession schedule posted on KnightWeb
  • Academic Advisement begins
October 20 Wednesday
  • Last day of classes for first half semester courses
  • Last day to withdraw from or elect Pass/Fail for first half semester courses
October 21 Thursday
  • First day of classes for second half semester courses
October 22 Friday
  • Add/Drop for second half semester ends
October 26 Tuesday
  • Deadline for change of major
November 1 Monday
  • Time tickets posted
November 5 Friday
  • Advance registration for Intersession and Spring 2022 begins at 7:00am for Seniors who have applied to graduate
November 8 Monday
  • Advance registration for Intersession and Spring 2022 begins at 7:00 am for Seniors who have not applied to graduate
November 11 Thursday
  • Advance registration begins at 7:00 am for Juniors 
November 15 Monday
  • Advance registration begins at 7:00 am for Sophomores
November 18 Thursday
  • Advance registration begins at 7:00 am for First-Year Students
November 23 Tuesday
  • Open registration/waitlist for Spring 2022 begins at 8:00 am
November 24 Wednesday
  • Residence halls close at 10:00 am
November 24-26 Wed-Fri
  • Thanksgiving Break - No classes
November 28 Sunday
  • Residence halls open at 10:00 am
December 13 Monday
  • Last day of classes
  • Last day to withdraw from or elect Pass/Fail for second half semester and full-semester courses
December 14 Tuesday
  • Study Day - No class-related activities
December 15 Wednesday
  • Final examinations begin
December 21 Tuesday
  • Final examinations end
  • Fall graduation date
December 22 Wednesday
  • Residence halls close at 10:00 am
December 24 Friday
  • Christmas holiday - College closed
  • Final grades due at 5:00 pm
Intersession 2022 (January 3–January 25, 2022)

Learn more about Intersession

Date Day Information
January 2 Sunday
  • Last day for 100% refund of tuition and all fees
January 3 Monday
  • First day of classes for Intersession
  • Add/Drop period begins for Intersession
  • Late registration fee applies
January 4 Tuesday
  • Last day for 100% refund of tuition and comprehensive fee
January 5 Wednesday
  • Add/Drop period for Intersession closes at 5:00 pm
January 6 Thursday
  • Withdrawal period begins (grade of W)
January 9 Sunday
  • Last day for 35% refund of tuition and comprehensive fee
January 17 Monday
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No classes
January 24 Monday
  • Last day of classes for Intersession courses
  • Last day to withdraw from or elect Pass/Fail for an Intersession course
  • Winter graduation date
January 25 Tuesday
  • Final grades due at 12:00 pm
Spring 2022 (January 26–May 20, 2022)
Date Day Information
January 2 Sunday
  • Payment deadline for advance registered undergraduate students for Spring 2022
  • Open registration for Spring closes at 11:55pm
January 17 Monday
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No classes
January 21 Friday
  • Spring registration reopens for all students
January 25 Tuesday
  • Orientation for first-time students
  • Residence halls open at 10:00 am for all students
  • Last day to drop with 100% refund of tuition and fees
January 26 Wednesday
  • First day of classes for full semester and first half semester courses
  • Add/Drop period begins at 8:00 am
  • Last day to register without late registration fee
  • Payment deadline for graduate students

February 1

Tuesday
  • Add/Drop period ends
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 100% refund of tuition
  • Deadline for Directed Studies and Internships
February 2 Wednesday
  • Withdrawal period begins (grade of W)
February 8 Tuesday
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 70% refund of tuition
  • Grad check holds posted
February 15 Tuesday
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 50% refund of tuition
February 16 Wednesday
  • Diversity Summit - No classes
February 22 Tuesday
  • Last day to withdraw from individual courses with 30% refund of tuition
March 8 Tuesday
  • Incomplete grades due for Fall and Intersession courses
March 9 Wednesday
  • Advisement holds posted
  • Summer and Fall schedule posted on KnightWeb
March 11 Friday
  • Academic Advisement begins
  • Last day of classes for first half semester courses
  • Last day to withdraw from or elect Pass/Fail for first half semester courses
March 12 Saturday
  • Residence halls close at 10:00 am
March 14 Monday
  • Time tickets posted
March 14-18 Mon-Fri
  • Spring Break - No classes
March 20 Sunday
  • Residence halls open at 10:00 am
March 21 Monday
  • Full semester classes resume
  • First day of class for second half semester courses
March 24 Thursday
  • Add/Drop period for second half semester ends at 11:55pm
March 28 Monday
  • Deadline for Change of Major
April 4 Monday
  • Advance registration for Seniors begins at 7:00 am for Fall 2022 and Summer 2022
April 7 Thursday
  • Advance registration for Juniors begins at 7:00 am for Fall 2022 and Summer 2022
April 11 Monday
  • Advance registration for Sophomores begins at 7:00 am for Fall 2022 and Summer 2022
April 14 Thursday
  • Advance registration for First-Year Students begins at 7:00 am for Fall 2022 and Summer 2022
April 18 Monday
  • Registration open to all students at 8:00 am
April 21 Thursday
  • GREAT Day - No classes
May 6 Friday
  • Registration closes at 5:00 pm
May 12 Thursday
  • Last day of classes for second half semester and full-semester courses
  • Last day to withdraw from or elect Pass/Fail for second half semester and full-semester courses
May 13 Friday
  • Study Day - No class-related activities
May 16 Monday
  • Final examinations begin
May 20 Friday
  • Final examinations end
  • Residence halls close at 10:00 am for non-graduating students
  • Graduation rehearsal at 1:45 pm
  • Spring final grades due at 5:00 pm
May 21 Saturday
  • Commencement at 10:00 am and 2:00 pm
May 22 Sunday
  • Residence halls close at 12:00 noon for graduates
May 23 Monday
  • Open registration for Fall 2022 begins at 8:00 am
Summer Sessions 2022 (May 23–August 12, 2022)
Date Day Information
May 22 Sunday
  • Last day to drop a course with 100% refund of tuition and fees for Sessions I, IA, and IB
May 23 Monday
  • CLASSES BEGIN for Full, Sessions I, IA, and IB - Late Registration Fee applies
May 24 Tuesday
  • Last day to register, add or drop a course without a "W" for Sessions I, IA, and IB
May 27 Friday
  • Deadline to elect Pass/Fail for Sessions I, IA, and IB
  • Drop/Add for Full Summer Session ends at 5 pm
May 30 Monday
  • MEMORIAL DAY - NO CLASSES
June 3 Friday
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W" for Session IA
June 8 Wednesday
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W" for Session IB
June 10 Friday
  • Session IA CLASSES END
June 17 Friday
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W" for Session I
  • Session IB CLASSES END
June 19 Sunday
  • Last day to drop a course with 100% refund of tuition and fees for Session IIB
June 20 Monday
  • CLASSES BEGIN for Session IIB
  • Payments due
June 21 Tuesday
  • Last day to register, add or drop a course without a "W" for Session IIB
June 24 Friday
  • Deadline to elect Pass/Fail for Session IIB
July 1 Friday
  • Session I CLASSES END
July 4 Monday
  • INDEPENDENCE DAY OBSERVED - NO CLASSES
  • Last day to drop a course with 100% refund of tuition and fees for Session II
July 5 Tuesday
  • CLASSES BEGIN for Session II
  • Payments due
July 6 Wednesday
  • Last day to register, add or drop a course without a "W" for Session II
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W" for Session IIB
July 8 Friday
  • Deadline to elect Pass/Fail for Session II
July 15 Friday
  • Session IIB CLASSES END
  • Withdrawal deadline for Full summer session
July 17 Sunday
  • Last day to drop a course with 100% refund of tuition and fees for Session IIIB
July 18 Monday
  • CLASSES BEGIN for Session IIIB
  • Payments due
July 19 Tuesday
  • Last day to register, add or drop a course without a "W" for Session IIIB
July 22 Friday
  • Deadline to elect Pass/Fail for Session IIIB
July 29 Friday
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W" for Session II
August 2 Tuesday
  • Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W" for Session IIIB
August 12 Friday
  • Full Session, Session II, and IIIB CLASSES END
August 19 Friday
  • Summer Graduation Date

 Final Exam Schedules

Spring 2021FALL 2021