Skip to main content

Legal Holidays

Legal holidays observed by the State University of New York at Geneseo.


2020-2021 Academic Year

Fireworks

Labor Day

Monday, September 7, 2020

Classes will not be in session. The College is officially closed and only essential services will be maintained.

Columbus Day

Monday, October 12, 2020

Classified staffing should be minimal and will require prior approval from the Provost or appropriate Vice President on the classified staff holiday certification for GP-8.

Election Day

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Election Day has been designated as a floating holiday for employees in the CSEA, PEF, UUP and M/C units. Classes will be in session. Offices will be open & employees will be expected to report to work. Employees may observe the floating holiday with supervisor’s approval or will accrue floating holiday time.

Veteran’s Day

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Classified staffing should be minimal and will require prior approval from the Provost or appropriate Vice President on the classified staff holiday certification form GP-8.

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 26, 2020

The College will be officially closed and only essential services will be maintained. Supervisors should provide a liberal leave policy for employees on Friday, November 27, 2020.

Christmas

Friday, December 25, 2020 

The College will be officially closed and only essential services will be maintained. Supervisors should provide a liberal leave policy for employees, from Saturday, December 26, 2020 through Saturday, January 2, 2021.

New Year’s Day

Friday, January 1, 2021

The College will be officially closed and only essential services will be maintained. Supervisors should provide a liberal leave policy for employees, from Saturday, December 26, 2020 through Saturday, January 2, 2021.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 18, 2021

Classes will not be in session. Classified staffing should be minimal and will require prior approval from the Provost or appropriate Vice President on the classified staff holiday certification form GP-8.

Lincoln’s Birthday

Friday, February 12, 2021

Lincoln’s Birthday has been designated as a floating holiday for employees in the CSEA, PEF, UUP and M/C units. Classes will be in session. Offices will be open & employees will be expected to report to work. Employees may observe the floating holiday with supervisor’s approval or will accrue floating holiday time.

Washington’s Birthday

Monday, February 15, 2021

Classified staffing should be minimal and will require prior approval from the Provost or appropriate Vice President on the classified staff holiday certification form GP-8.

Memorial Day

Monday, May 31, 2021

Classes will not be in session. The College is officially closed and only essential services will be maintained.

Independence Day

Sunday, July 4, 2021

Under the Attendance Rules a holiday which falls on a Sunday shall be observed on the following Monday July 5, 2021.  The College is officially closed and only essential services will be maintained.