Skip to main content

Station History: Awards


Animated WGSU Logo





Outstanding Student Member Award

The WGSU Outstanding Student Member Award is presented annually to a current student in recognition of outstanding performance, significant contributions and exemplary dedication in official service to the station.

Recipients of the honor (formerly the “State University College at Geneseo Outstanding Radio Club Member” award) were named from 1963 — WGSU’s first year as an FCC-licensed radio station — through 1969. Following a more than quarter-century hiatus, a recipient was recognized in 1996 (only to be followed by another extended gap of longer than two decades).

After discovering the plaque while preparing for WGSU’s Golden Anniversary celebration, in 2013, the award was revived, in 2018 (with Erin Carlo ’18 becoming the first honoree in 22 years). Below are the names of past recipients:


Sarah DeVito ’23


Maddie Robbins ’20


Teresa Cappiello ’19


Erin Carlo ’18


Tim Pynn ’96


David Slade ’71


LaVern “Tad” Thompson ’69


Constance Bater ’68


Gary Martzolf ’68


Alma Oakes ’65


Rose Anna Pellerico ’64


Richard Crowley ’65

Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) College Media Awards

“IBS honors excellence in programming, air personalities, public service efforts and outstanding stations with the IBS College and High School Radio/TV/Media Awards.” (Source: IBS)


Best Public Affairs Program (First Place):Geneseo Today” (Executive Producer/Host: Sonia Bartolomeo)
Best Station Contest/Promotional Event (Finalist): Genny Fest
Best Community Outreach Event (Finalist): Genny Fest
Best Event Promo (Finalist): Genny Fest ’19 Promo
Best Community News Coverage (Finalist):Small-town Music Scene” (Producer: Zach Kochan)
Best Hockey Play-by-Play (Finalist): Manhattanville College at SUNY Geneseo, March 16, 2019 (Announcers: Sam Cooper ’19, Nate Sharman ’19)


Best Station Contest/Promotional Event (Finalist): Genny Fest

College Broadcasters Inc. (CBI) National Student Production Awards

“CBI salutes the best in student video and audio production. The best in student media is recognized across 24 categories.” (Source: CBI)


Best Audio News Reporting (Finalist/Fourth Place):Campus Environmental Activism” (Producer: Ian Thomas ’16)

Best Audio Public Service Announcement (Finalist/Fourth Place):SUNY Geneseo Office of Financial Aid” (Producer: McKenna Miller ’16)