Breadcrumb

3D Modeling and Printing

Welcome to 3D Modeling and Printing! Here you will find some general information about our course

3D printing is a process whereby objects are built up from plastic filament or some other material. The advancements in technology of 3D printing have made 3D printing more accessible to the general public. Literacy in basic 3D modeling and manufacturing is an essential skill for future STEM success in this country. In this course students will learn how to be "makers" by using various types of 3D modeling software, printing actual physical objects that they have designed and modeled themselves, and participating in educational outreach throughout the campus community.

Schedule

As this is a new course, the schedule below is subject to change. As the semester progresses, the topics, timing, and expectations can, and probably will, evolve.

 

  • Week 1: Introduction
  • Week 2-3: The Printer, Calibration, and Thingiverse
  • Week 4-5: 3D Design
  • Week 6-7: Scaled Models 
  • Week 7-8: Food Printing 
  • Week 8-10: Movable Parts
  • Week 11 Non-Plastic Printing
  • Week 12: 3D Scanning
  • Week 13: Thinking Ahead
  • Week 14-15: Final Projects

 


 

Articles of Interest

 

 

 

Experimental Space is our 3D Printing Lab and
is located in South 341.

Links

 

 

 

Videos

 


 

Assignments

  1. Read Chapter 1 of the book - Finish by Monday, Jan. 25
  2. Read Chapter 2 - Wednesday, Jan. 27 ( Summary)
  3. Read Chapter 5 - Wednesday, Feb. 3 ( Summary)
  4. Calibration Assignment Due - Monday, Feb. 8
  5. Read Chapter 6 - Wednesday, Feb. 10 ( Summary)
  6. Customization Assignment Due - Wednesday, Feb. 10
  7. Amazing Maze Assignment Due - Wednesday, Feb. 17
  8. Preliminary Report Due - Wednesday, Feb. 17 ( Submit)
  9. Read Chapter 10 - Wednesday, Feb. 24 ( Summary)
  10. Coffee Cup Assignment Due - Monday, Feb. 29
  11. Monument Assignment Due - Wednesday, Mar. 2
  12. Read Chapter 8 - Wednesday, Mar. 2 ( Summary)
  13. Read Chapter 9 - Wednesday, Mar. 9 ( Summary)
  14. Scaled Model Assignment Due - Wednesday, Mar. 9
  15. Food-Related Assignment Due - Wednesday, Mar. 23
  16. Secondary Report Due - Wednesday, Mar. 23 ( Submit)
  17. Read Chapter 3 - Wednesday, Mar. 30 ( Summary )
    (Optional) Consider reading Ch. 4 too.
  18. Modular Design Assignment Due - Wednesday, Mar. 30
  19. Read Chapter 11 - Wednesday, Apr. 6 ( Summary )
  20. Print-in-Place Assignment Due - Wednesday, Apr. 6
  21. Read Chapter 7 - Wednesday, Apr. 13 ( Summary )
  22. GREAT Day - Tuesday, Apr. 19
  23. Read Chapter 13 - Wednesday, Apr. 27, or
    Read Chapter 12 - Wednesday, Apr. 27, or
    Read Chapter 14 - Wednesday, Apr. 27 ( Summary )
  24. Scanning Assignment Due - Monday, May 2
  25. Final Presentation Preferences
  26. Final Presentations - Wednesday, May 11, 8:00-10:30am
Things you will need:
  • Fabricated: The New World of 3D Printing, by H. Lipson and M. Kurman
  • Computer and Mouse
  • 3D Design Software
Stages of Design:

  1. Begin with an idea.
  2. Develop the concept.
  3. Twist the concept to make it your own and challenge yourself.
  4. Present a final display of mastery.