2023–24 Presidential Scholars Named

2023–24 Presidential Scholars

L to R: Kayla Andersen, Nicole Kemmett, Allyson Surowick, Julia Wallace, Gianna Minnuto, Jordyn Grady. (SUNY Geneseo/Matt Burkhartt)

Ten SUNY Geneseo students will serve as Presidential Scholars for the 2023­­–24­ academic year. The students represent a variety of academic areas and exemplify the college’s institutional values. Presidential Scholars are top-achieving members of the senior class who also serve as ambassadors for the College.

To receive the honor, students must demonstrate a commitment to Geneseo’s values including:

  • A commitment to learning, as evidenced by a record of academic achievement through curriculum and participation in impactful academic work such as, overseas studies, independent study or research, conference presentations, publications, and/or significant artistic or creative projects.
  • A commitment to belonging, as evidenced by advocacy for the principles of diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice through curricular and co-curricular service and/or other activities.
  • A commitment to at least one of the college values of creativity, civic engagement, and sustainability, as evidenced by a record of intellectual curiosity and personal growth, active participation as a member of campus or wider communities, and/or work to advance principles of ecological, social, and economic stewardship.

This year’s cohort represents 11 majors, five minors, three Edgar Fellows, and numerous disciplines.

Kayla Andersen is a dual applied physics and sustainability studies major with a minor in mathematics.
Madolley Donzo is a dual major in psychology and English.
Jordyn “Jo” Grady is a double major in history and international relations and double minor in political science and anthropology.
Nicole Kemmett is a political science and English double major with a minor in the Edgar Fellows Honors Program.
Xander Michaels is a biochemistry major with minors in biomathematics and the Edgar Fellows Honors Program.
Gianna Minnuto is a biology major with minors in Spanish and the Edgar Fellows Honors Program.
Mack Ogden is a biochemistry major with a minor in mathematics.
Noé Stephens is a dual biology and Spanish major.
Allyson Surowick is a neuroscience major.
Julia Wallace is a sociology major with a minor in Spanish.

Learn more about Presidential Scholars


Robyn Rime
Senior Writer & Editor
(585) 245-5529