Skip to main content

Recognized Student Participants of 2015

The 5th annual James C. McCroskey and Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference, part of the 106th annual meeting of the Eastern Communication Association (ECA), Philadelphia, PA, April 22-26, 2015

The Communication Department is very proud to see several SUNY Geneseo students recognized at this conference for their hard work and dedication in the field of communication. Eleven Geneseo Communication student papers have been accepted. This is the largest among participating schools. In addition, two students received a Top Paper Award. Please note that students are listed in alphabetical order by last name.

Samantha Brown

Title IX: Friend or Foe?

Faculty Sponsor:  Atsushi Tajima, Ph.D.

Chelsea Butkowski

Veiled subordination:  The Transmission of Gender Posing from Fine Art to Modern Advertising *Received Top Paper Award

Jennie Conway

The future looks bleak?:  Negotiation and Reimagination of Gender Roles in YA Dystopian Novels *Received Top Paper Award

JiYeon Im

Media Framing and Stigmas of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Faculty Sponsor:  Atsushi Tajima, Ph.D.

Bethany Martone

You are the Apple to My I

Faculty Sponsor:  Atsushi Tajima, Ph.D.

Janelle Marxhausen

"A Middle Eastern Trait": Amerian Misperceptions of Islam and the Media as an Educator

Faculty Sponsor:  Atsushi Tajima, Ph.D.

Kelsey McGrail

The Double-Edged Sword:  The Hook-up Culture's Creation of a New Form of Sexism

Faculty Sponsor:  Atsushi Tajima, Ph.D.

Cassandra Nicol

Crippling our Superheroes:  Disability Representation in the Marvel Universe

Jennifer O'Neil

Sex on the Blue Bottle:  The Objectification of Women in Skyy Vodka Advertisements

Taylor Quaranta

Romantic Relationships in Emerging Adulthood:  Understanding Them Through a Communication Privacy Managment Perspective

Faculty Sponsor:  Atsushi Tajima, Ph.D.

Emily Tenenbaum

Chasing a Moving Target:  The Evolution of the Female Beauty Standard Through Advertisements from 1890-1990