President's Commission On Diversity And Community


On May 7, 1998, President Christopher C. Dahl appointed the President's Commission on Diversity and Community with the following stated purpose:


We seek to create a richly diverse community where students and faculty are actively engaged with a wide range of ideas and where we all have the opportunity to learn from people of diverse racial, ethnic, and social backgrounds. We seek to build an educational community where differences are respected and where individuals from all backgrounds are accepted and participate freely in the teaching and learning process. Dr. Dahl further stated that "Continuing to build such a community at Geneseo is essential to providing a liberal and liberating education for all students." The Commission was charged to consider four areas: coordination of diversity effort; recruitment and retention; campus atmosphere; and building community.

To this day the Commission actively pursues the tenets of its charge and reports regularly on its findings and activities to the President and the College Community.

Reports and Findings

Annual Reports of the Commission are available in PDF Format.

         -- Diversity Plan

         -- Diversity Plan - Assignment of Responsibilities

         -- President's Charge to the 2012-2013 Commission

         -- President's Charge to the 2011-2012 Commission

         -- 2011-2012 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

         -- 2010-2011 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2009-1010 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2008-2009 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2007-2008 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2006-2007 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2004-2005 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2003-2004 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2002-2003 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2001-2002 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 2000-2001 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 1999-2000 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)

-- 1998-1999 Commission Annual Report text (.pdf file)



President's Commission on Diversity & Community

2011-12 Membership

CathyAdamsAssistant Professor, History
JimAimersAssistant Professor, Anthropology
IreneBelyakovLecturer and ESL Coordinator  (co-chair)
AlexandraCarloStaff psychologist, Student Health and Counseling
Teresa WalkerChanCounselor, Access Opportunity Programs
MichelleCostelloReference & Instruction Librarian
BeckyGlassExecutive Assistant to the President
DavidGordonAssociate Provost
ScottHemerHead Coach, Women's Basketball
HarryHoweProfessor, Accounting
GabeIturbidesCounselor, Access Opportunity Programs
DanielJacquesStockroom Manager, Dept. of Chemistry
WendiKinneyCoordinator, Greek Affairs & Off-Campus Living
Ann MarieLauricellaAssistant Professor, School of Education
Maria PerpetuaLiwanagAssistant Professor, School of Education
GloriaLopezDirector, Affirmative Action
KathyMapesAssociate Professor, History (co-chair)
NicoleMcCawthanResidence Director
Susan BandoniMuenchProfessor, Biology
SusanNormanDirector, Xerox Center for Multicultural Teacher Educ.
BobOwensProfessor, Communicative Disorders and Sciences
TracyParadisReference & Instruction Librarian (co-chair)
DavidParfittDirector, Teaching and Learning Center
JenniferRogalskyAssociate Professor, Geography
JulieRaoDirector of Institutional Research
FatimaRodriguez JohnsonCoordinator, Multicultural Programs & Services
MonicaSchneiderAssociate Professor, Psychology
FarooqSheikhAssistant Professor, School of Business
AtsushiTajimaAssistant Professor, Communication
AnnmarieUrsoAssistant Professor, School of Education
RobertWayland-SmithChair, College Council
LindaWareAssociate Professor, School of Education
 Diantha Watts Staff Associate, School of Education
 Peggy Wirth Nurse Practitioner