Department of Languages & Literatures Annual Awards Ceremony

The Department of Languages and Literatures Annual Awards Ceremony, known as the DLLAAC, originated as part of current department Chairperson Dr. Kodjo Adabra’s overall vision.  An annual ceremony to acknowledge, recognize and celebrate our most talented language students and committed department faculty, the first-year event included awarding existing departmental scholarships to student recipients, a few new awards for both students and department faculty, induction ceremonies by two of the department's honor society chapters, the Center for Languages and Cultures' tutor recognition, and entertainment to exhibit the richness of the languages within our department by cultural performances from both students and faculty.  The ceremony, which took place on May 1, 2019 from 5:30pm to 7:00pm in the Sturges Auditorium on campus, also included a recognition of all faculty and past department Chairs who have served ten years or more snd are still currently working in the department.  The DLLAAC aims to mirror the department’s values and relevance to the GLOBE mission at SUNY Geneseo.  The Chair selected a three-person committee to implement the DLLAAC vision: Dr. Susana Castillo-Rodriguez (committee chair), Dr. Kathryn Fredericks, and Dr. Wesley Costa de Moraes.